Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Important Message from Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles

Appointment Numbers (Or Schedule an Appt. Online)

Delaware City Driver Services: 302-365-8771, Delaware City Vehicle Services: 302-365-8770,Dover Driver Services: 302-744-2703, Dover Vehicle Services: 302-744-2568, Georgetown Driver Services: 302-853-1044, Georgetown Vehicle Services: 302-853-1034, Wilmington Driver Services: 302-434-3209, Wilmington Vehicle Services: 302-434-3208

Delaware.gov logo

Division of Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Services Special Vehicles


Off Highway Vehicles

Registration of off-highway vehicles (OHVs) is required state-wide. Registration applications can be processed at any Division of Motor Vehicles office. The applicant must provide a description of the OHV (make, year and serial number) and must be at least 18 years of age unless the applicant is accompanied by at least one parent or legal guardian who provides written consent on the application. The fee for registration is for three years.

OHVs may not be operated on public streets or highways, and the rider must have the permission of the property owner before operation on private property.

The operator and all passengers must wear a protective helmet with a chinstrap fastened.

All OHVs must have brakes and a muffler that reduces the noise levels by 60 percent.

All operators of OHVs must review the laws governing their operation. The law describes, in detail, age limits for operators, accident procedures, speed limits and other information that an operator must be familiar with prior to operating an OHV. The law is contained in Delaware Title 21  Section 6801 through 6834.

ATV Safety | ATV Ad