Skip to Content Skip to Navigation logo

Division of Motor Vehicles

Uninsured Motorist

The Uninsured Motorist Section is responsible for overseeing the auditing and collection of funds of valid Delaware registered vehicles that are not properly insured.

If the vehicle is uninsured, the motor vehicle owner is required to pay to DMV an uninsured motor vehicle fee in addition to normal registration fees. The uninsured fees are $100 for the first 30 days and $5 each day thereafter.

If insurance is being cancelled for any reason and the vehicle has valid registration time, the tag should be surrendered into the Division.

The Division of Motor Vehicles shall also charge a registration reinstatement fee of $50. When the Division of Motor Vehicles assesses a vehicle owner with a penalty, the Division shall not reinstate a registration suspended until the penalty is paid and the owner has also paid a registration reinstatement fee of $50.

Payments for penalties can be made by cash only at all four locations. Credit card can be paid by phone (302) 744-2513, at the Dover location, or with a myDMV account online.

Please see the Uninsured Motorist Forms tab to the left to obtain documents required by the section.

Hours of Operation

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday

8:00 am - 4:30 pm


11:00 am - 7:00 pm

Main Office

Public Safety Building, 303 Transportation Circle, Dover, DE 19901

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 698, Dover, DE 19903







Effective July 15th, 2024, all Delaware licensed insurers, brokers, and agents providing automobile coverage in Delaware must use the authorized form on the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle Website. If you have any questions, please reach out to or 302-744-2513.