Driving is a privilege, not a right. The State grants you the privilege of operating motor vehicles only as long as you drive safely and obey the rules and regulations. If you violate driving laws, your driving privileges may be suspended or revoked. The period of the suspension or revocation varies with the type of offense(s) committed. A fee of must be paid to reinstate a suspended license. A fee is charged to reinstate a revoked license. You may be required to complete all driver license written, road, and eye-screen tests before reinstating your license. Suspension of a license is a temporary removal of your driving privilege. Revocation of a license is a cancellation of your driving privilege. For questions regarding license suspension or to pay your reinstatement fee over the phone you may call 302.744.2509. For questions regarding license revocation or to pay your reinstatement fee over the phone you may call 302.744.2508. For questions regarding serious medical conditions you may call 302.744.2507.
The Division will suspend or revoke the license of any Delaware resident who has been convicted of a violation in another state which, if committed in Delaware, would be grounds for suspension or revocation of a license. The driving record includes all convictions, even those committed in other states.
Suspension Of A Driver's License
The Division of Motor Vehicles will suspend the driver's license of any Delaware resident whenever the Division has reason to believe that such a person:
- Excessive Points or Serious Speeding Violations.
- Has by reckless or unlawful operation of a motor vehicle contributed to an accident resulting in injury or death to any person or caused serious property damage.
- Is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle for serious medical or mental conditions.
- Has committed a serious violation of motor vehicle laws.
- Has driven a motor vehicle without consent of its owner
- Has issued a non-collectible check to the Division
- Racing (speed exhibition)
- Spinning wheels
- Turfing (causing destruction to grass, yards, property, etc.)
- Failing to answer a court summons in any state
- Has violated any of the licensing provision of the Delaware Code including:
- Use of fictitious, suspended, revoked or borrowed driver's license
- Loaning a driver's license to another person
- Failure to surrender a suspended or revoked license
- Giving a fictitious name or address or making a false statement in applying for a license
- Unlawful manufacture or possession of a false insurance document
- Driving an uninsured motor vehicle
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Altering a driver's license or using a fraudulent license
- Failure to pay Child Support
Child Support Delinquency
Any person who owes $1,000 or more in arrears or retroactive support and is 30 or more days delinquent in payment of a child support order from either Family Court or the Division of Child Support Enforcement may have their license suspended as defined in Title 13 Delaware Code section 516. The suspension will remain in effect until a release is obtained from the requesting agency and received by the Division of Motor Vehicles. A reinstatement fee of must be paid to the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to reinstate the license.
Any student expelled from a school district as outlined under Title 14 Delaware Code section 4130 will be suspended until the length of expulsion is complete, the student reaches their 19th birthday, or 2 years has elapsed since the date of expulsion. A release must be provided from the school district/superintendent in order to be eligible for reinstatement. A reinstatement fee of must be paid to the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to reinstate the license. Any student suspended under this section may apply for an occupational license under the following conditions:
- You held a current Delaware license prior to this suspension
- You have not been issued an occupational license within the immediate past 12 months
- You are not under Suspension or Revocation for any other reason
- Your Delaware license is turned in to the Division of Motor Vehicles
- You submit the appropriate application, notarized documents, and sign the sworn compliance statement
A copy of the occupational license must be carried by the driver at all times when operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state.
Driving During Suspension or Revocation
A conviction for driving during suspension or revocation shall extend the period of suspension or revocation for a like period. No driving authority will be permitted during the balance of the initial suspension or revocation and the extended period. Any driving authority previously issued by the Division must be surrendered.